Saxon Details New Album "Thunderbolt"

Saxon isn't wasting any time in 2018. Following the critically acclaimed release of "Battering Ram" in 2015, the heavy metal giants are set to release their latest studio album, "Thunderbolt," on February 2, 2018 via the Militia Guard label (Silver Lining Music). The new album "Thunderbolt" will feature original artwork by long time Saxon collaborator Paul Raymond Gregory.

"This is album 22 and it's called 'Thunderbolt.' It's a storming, smashing, thundering collection of tracks we've been crafting with producer Andy Sneap, and it's finished ready to be unleashed. Stand clear and fasten your seat belts!" says Biff Byford.

Three weeks later, the band will embark on the first leg of the Thunderbolt 2018 European Tour. Saxon will be joined by fellow English rockers Diamond Head and metal trio Rock Goddess will perform on the scheduled UK dates, with very special guests Magnum on the UK Hull date only. However, Saxon doesn't stop there - dates for Thunderbolt Tour Part 2 will be announced in early 2018, including a run with the mighty Judas Priest and Black Star Riders set for North American shores.

"This is part one of the colossal Thunderbolt World tour. We're going to be touring the whole of 2018 so get your tickets and join the ride. It's going to be fast and furious, dark and brooding. Monumental riffing and screaming vocals - loud and proud - it's going to be a Saxon tour, unique in every way!" adds Biff Byford.

Since the 1970s, Saxon have a proven ability to take rock 'n' roll and give it an electrifying edge which has since cemented their status as pioneers of the British heavy metal wave. With over twenty studio albums under its belt, Saxon has made it their steadfast dedication to creating a dynamic body of work - a staple of a long career.

The album track listing is:

  1. Olympus Rising

  2. Thunderbolt

  3. The Secret of Flight

  4. Nosferatu (The Vampires Waltz)

  5. They Played Rock and Roll

  6. Predator

  7. Sons of Odin

  8. Sniper

  9. A Wizard's Tale

  10. Speed Merchants

  11. Roadie's Song

  12. Nosferatu (Raw Version)*

*not available on vinyl

Thunderbolt will be available to pre-order on December 1 in the following formats:

  • CD Album in Digipack

  • 180 gms coloured vinyl in a Gatefold

  • A Special Edition Boxset

  • Tape Cassette

  • Digital Download

Thunderbolt 2018 European Tour - Part 1 Dates:

Fri February 23 - UK, Cardiff University Sat February 24 - UK, Cambridge Corn Exchange Sun February 25 - UK, Hull City Hall Tue February 27- Holland, Tilburg 013 Wed February 28 - Germany, Saarbruecken Garage Thu March 1 - Germany, Hannover Capitol Fri March 2 - Germany, Frankfurt Batschkapp Sat March 3 - Germany, Dresden Schlachthof

#traditionalmetal #metal #truemetal #NWoBHM

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All