Insect Ark Details New Album 'Marrow Hymns'

Combining elements of horror-film soundtracks, psychedelic doom, and atmospheric noise, New York City/Portland-based instrumental duo Insect Ark presents the newest record "Marrow Hymns" to be released on Profound Lore Records on February 23, 2018. Check out the first single "In the Nest" above.

Comprised of Dana Schechter (M. Gira's Angels Of Light, Wrekmeister Harmonies, Zeal & Ardor, Gnaw) and Ashley Spungin (Taurus, Purple Rhinestone Eagle, Negative Queen), Insect Ark's intensely visual music weaves interludes of fragile beauty with crushing passages of swirling doom, spinning like a backwards fever dream. "Marrow Hymns" is a wordless song, a hypnotic voice that screams and whispers from a place deep in the furrows, from the bones, from the blood. Defying easy categorization, Insect Ark's uncommon sound is in part the amalgamation of these two women's passions: Schechter's sinister bass lines and unconventional use of lap steel guitar (and her complete omission of electric guitar), and Spungin's lucid, exacting drumming and synth work with her own hand-built analog noise pedals (Ormus Electronics).

Schechter describes Insect Ark as being a voice when words fail to articulate emotions or experiences, a visceral form of communication through sonic submersion. The cathartic nature of the music Insect Ark creates is a document of life's many complex facets - perseverance and presence, chaos and meditation, birth and decay, brutality and delicacy, and of hope in the unknown.

"Marrow Hymns" was recorded and mixed with engineer Ethan Donaldson at Mozart Street Studios in Brooklyn, New York over the course of eighteen months. With the two halves of Insect Ark residing on opposite coasts, the album was largely skeletal in form upon commencement of recording. Overdubs and further writing/arrangements were done after Spungin's return to Portland in the isolation of Schechter's home studio. The sense of distance and vast emptiness remained intact in the songs, built out over many long nights. "Marrow Hymns"' song themes of displacement, loss, and isolation are personal journals of that time period, as both members found themselves simultaneously experiencing existential crises. However, the album also tells a story of strength and determination, made from the marrow of these two women, a song for all things that struggle to survive.

"Marrow Hymns" will be available on CD, vinyl, and digital formats. Pre-orders to be unveiled in the coming weeks.

The track listing is:

1. Thelema

2. Arp 9

3. In the Nest

4. Skin Walker

5. Slow Ray

6. Sea Harps

7. Tarnish

8. Windless

9. Daath

#InsectArk #psychedelicdoom #atmosphericdoommetal #instrumental #metal #ProfoundLoreRecords

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All