Arkona Premieres Video Clip For New Song 'V Pogonie Za Beloj Ten'yu'

Russian folk metal act Arkona premiered the video clip for the brand new song "V Pogonie Za Beloj Ten'yu" ("In Pursuit of the White Shadow") which is available in the player above. The song is the first video issued from the new album "Khram," coming January 19, 2018 via Napalm Records. Pre-orders can be made at this location.

Vocalist Masha comments: "We'd like to present our animated music video for the song 'In Pursuit of the White Shadow' taken from our new album 'Khram' ('The Temple'). The song's title means 'in pursuit of non-existent.'

"The video footage is based on the song's plot, and it concerns the pursuit of an illusion - the pursuit of something invisible, that, in fact, does not exist at all, but we blindly strive for it without realizing the existing fact of this illusion. The protagonist of the video is a faceless silhouette symbolizing mankind, and it is depicted as a figure drifting on water. The figure strives to an unattainable lighthouse located at the other side of the world and hypnotizing with its tempting illusory light. This light shines from time to time, and disappears in the darkness, leaving the protagonist lost and alone to drift on the river of our life - forever. "The video presents the designed Rune graphics based on the hypothetical pre-Christian Slavonic writing, which is called in modern Russian sources as 'Boyanovitsa.'

"'Boyanovitsa' is a common name of the alphabet, which was used in 'Boyan's Hymn' (skalds of Rus were called as 'boyans'). 'Boyan's Hymn' was a part of antiquities' collection of A.I. Sulakadzev, the collector from St. Petersburg. In the 19th century 'Boyan's Hymn' was copied and partially published by G.R. Derzhavin, a statesman, and one of the most highly esteemed Russian poets before Alexander Pushkin.

"The author's Runes appear one after another throughout the video, and form a whole phrase in the end - the title of the song 'In Pursuit of the White Shadow.' This font also emphasizes the song's idea concerning non-existent, but hypothetic realities of mankind, thereby highlighting the song's concept meaning 'in pursuit of non-existent.'

The track listing for "Khram" is:

1. Mantra (Intro)

2. Shtorm (song streaming here)

3. Tseluya zhizn'

4. Rebionok bez imeni

5. Khram

6. V pogonie za beloj ten'yu

7. V ladonyah bogov

8. Volchitsa

9. Mantra (Outro)

#Arkona #folkmetal #blackenedfolkmetal #NapalmRecords #metal #musicvideo

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All