Empress Announces Debut EP 'Reminiscence'

The three-headed beast from Vancouver, B.C. - Empress - was born after guitarist/vocalist Peter Sacco (Seer) and drummer Chris Doyle attended a show headlined by doom mavens Elder. Inspired by the massive wall of sound and psychedelia they encountered on that fateful night, the pair enlisted bassist Brenden Gunn (Craters) and set out to create their own brand of stoner/sludge metal.

The trio, whose collective history dates back nearly a decade, went immediately to work. Within two months Empress wrote and recorded the five tracks, now collectively known as "Reminiscence." With this debut EP, Empress harvests a hybrid strain of monolithic groove, over-amped sludge and mutant prog.

"Reminiscence" was recorded and mixed at Bully's Recording Studio in New Westminster, B.C. The release was mastered by Brad Boatright at AudioSiege in Portland, Oregon. The artwork - shown below - was created by U.K. artist Luke Oram.

Empress will self-release "Reminiscence" as a digital download on February 12th. Pre-orders can be made at this location and a stream of new track "The Offering" can be heard below.

The track list, cover art and the stream of "The Offering" can be accessed here:

1. The Offering

2. Immer

3. Baptizer

4. They Speak Like Trees

5. Dawn

#Empress #doomstoner #stonerrock #psychedelicdoom #doommetal

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All