Purest Of Pain Announces Debut Album 'Solipsis'; New Single Available

Dutch melodic death metal band Purest Of Pain announce the release of their debut album "Solipsis" on March 1st to follow the 2013 single "Momentum" and 2011 EP "Revelations In Obscurity." The band has unleashed the first single "Terra Nil," which you can check out in the player above. Lead by guitarist and main songwriter Merel Bechtold (Delain), who also performs in much respected bands MaYaN and The Gentle Storm/Anneke van Giersbergen, the energetic quintet from Holland, which now includes Delain drummer Joey de Boer, who is a force to be reckoned with. Combining Scandanavian metal influences with groove, ambiance, tone and melody. Seven years in the making, from the writing process up to the final mastering to launching a successful online crowdfunding campaign on Indiegogo (raising over 18,000 Euros, thank you video here), along with increasing the funds through live performances, which saw the band open for such bands as Opeth, Textures, Suicide Silence, Unearth and Attack Attack! plus an unforgettable slot at Wacken in 2014. "Solipsis" is 14 tracks of brutality blended with groove and emotion produced by Merel Bechtold with recording done at Mantis Audio Studio (Delain) and mastering by Jens Jorgen (Opeth, Arch Enemy, Soilwork).

Bechtold comments: "‘Solipsis’ is a guitar oriented record, is has been recorded as organic as possible: partly at home, partly at Mantis Audio Studio. The song ‘E.M.D.R.’ is written by fellow guitarist Michael van Eck. All the other songs were summoned by myself. The lyrics are written by vocalist J.D. Kaye. And even though the music isat times technical and challenging, it's undeniably driven by relentless groove, enhanced by hugely melodic passages, wonderful tone and moments of ambient clarity."

The CD and Vinyl versions have slightly altered artwork. Merel Bechtold was responsible for its concept and bass player Frank van Leeuwen designed and finalized the covers.

The track listing and artwork for the album can be found here:

1. The Pragmatic 2. Truth–seeker 3. Vessels 4. Crown of Worms 5. Momentum 6. The Sleep of Reason 7. Tidebreaker 8. Trial & Error 9. Terra Nil 10. Noctambulist 11. E.M.D.R. 12. Phantom Limb 13. The Solipsist 14. The End

#PurestOfPain #Delain #melodicdeathmetal #songstream

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All