Temperance - Of Jupiter And Moons (Review)

I cannot tell a lie...with the shedding of band members in recent years, your author has been quite concerned with the future of one of the brightest icons of the future symphonic melodic metal. Just After the release of "The Earth Embraces Us All" it was enduring the loss of drummer/composer Giulio Capone. Then in 2017, it was the departure of vocalist Chiara Tricarico. This left guitarist Marco Pastorino and bassist Liuk Abbott as the band's last original members.

Temperance entered the studio and simultaneously announced the album title and cover art, while keeping secret the identity of the new vocalist. When the announcement came, not one, but two vocalists were revealed - Alessia Scolletti and Kaledon vocalist Michele Guaitoli. The end result was the continuation of the direction from "The Earth Embraces Us All" in what is one of the more exciting albums of the subgenre you will hear this year. Now for the sigh of relief, followed by the regret for not trusting the songwriting skills of Mr. Pastorino.

"Of Jupiter And Moons" isn't knocking down any barriers for the symphonic metal scene, instead the band ramped up what made "The Earth Embraces Us All" such a great album: superior songwriting and high memorability. These two elements propel Temperance further into developing its distinct identity. You can easily hear the influences clear and lazily point out the Nightwish influences, but there is a ton more at work here.

For one, rather than falling into the pattern of female operatic/male growls - what Pastorino and company did was find the dynamic, non-operatic Alessia Scolletti and team her with the equally brilliant Guaitoli. Now the band can embrace pop elements with balls - keeping the music honest to the subgenre, but able to embrace a wider birth of material without treading into the super pop Amaranthe direction. This was key with "The Earth Embraces Us All," and thankfully continues on "Of Jupiter And Moons."

Take songs like "We Are Free," "Alive Again" and "Broken Promises" and you have precisely the right formula to freshen the dreadfully formulaic symphonic metal scene: energy charged melodic and catchy songwriting, incredible vocal performances that pack a punch without ever getting soft and a guitar tone that keep the music where it needs to be grounded...metal.

With Jacob Hansen behind the board for mixing and mastering is always the right move if a band wants an album to sound amazing, though the last one with Simone Mularoni as producer only proves the band's dedication to the worlds most talented sound guys. "Of Jupiter and Moons" sounds as crystal clear with a masterful mix - the author cannot speak more highly of Mr. Hansen's work. Charlie Bauerfeind..pfft.

With all the elements in place - stellar songwriting, catchy melodies and a punchy, but solidly heavy base - Temperance continues the ascent against all odds. Finally, melodic symphonic metal has a band that keeps reversing the stale boring formula to create something that borrows less from opera, more from hard rock, but never strays too far into pop. One of the best of the subgenre has risen up - retooled and reborn.

8.5/10 HAILS

Label: Scarlet Records

1. The Last Hope in a World of Hope

2. Broken Promises

3. Of Jupiter and Moons

4. Everything That I Am

5. We Are Free

6. Alive Again

7. The Art of Believing

8. Way Back Home

9. Empires and Men

10. Daruma's Eyes (Pt. 1)

#Temperance #melodicmetal #ScarletRecords #review #melodicsymphonicmetal

191 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All