Light This City Streams New Single 'A Grotesque Reflection'

Bay Area melodic death metal/metalcore act Light This City released the new single 'A Grotesque Reflection," which is available in the player above. The song comes from the impending fifth LP, and first in a decade, "Terminal Bloom," set for release on May 25th through Creator-Destructor Records. Pre-orders can be made over here.

Offers vocalist Laura Nichol with the release of the first single, "I've always had a fascination with Greek mythology, which a lot of my early Light This City lyrics referenced, and I found myself revisiting similar themes while writing lyrics for 'A Grotesque Reflection.' Obviously, one of the big questions that myths (and religion) try to answer is: What happens when we die? Kharon is the name of the ferryman who carries you into the underworld after your death. The line 'we have always been his passengers' alludes to feeling like normal life and the 'life' of death in the underworld are actually the same thing. So, when I die, and I'm about to approach this hellish place after my death--well, what makes that so different from the life I just came from? Your reflection in the waters of the underworld is really just a distorted visage of the same reflection you looked at every day in your normal life."

"Terminal Bloom" was recorded from December 2017 through February 2018 with Zack Ohren, who handled the band's previous four full length albums, at Castle Ultimate Studios in Oakland, California, and features vibrant cover artwork by Tony Midi.

Check out the track listing here:

1. Reality In Disarray

2. A Grotesque Reflection

3. Dormant Tide

4. Terminal Bloom

5. Death Downwind

6. Agents Of Fate

7. Extinguished

8. The Wake Of My Will

9. Neverlanding

10. Wildheart

#LightThisCity #melodicdeathmetal #melodicmetalcore #CreatorDestructorRecords #songstream

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All