Nonexist Returns With New EP 'In Praise Of Death'

Swedish death metal act Nonexist returns with the new EP "In Praise of Death" on June 29th via Mighty Music. Check out the promo clip for the new song "A Meditation Upon Death," which features Dark Tranquility vocalist Mikael Stanne and Armageddon/ex-Arch Enemy guitarist Christopher Amott, in the player above.

Founder Johan Reinholdz explains: "'In Praise of Death' - in praise of death metal that is. This EP is an homage, a tribute to this genre that has meant so much to me, going back my childhood. The 80's/early 90's old-school bands and the melodic death metal bands of the early/mid 90's bands in particular has inspired the music on this album. Therefore I want to thank these bands: Morbid Angel, Massacre, Merciless, Nihilst/Entombed, Carnage, Dismember, Death, Malevolent Creation, At the Gates, Carcass, Terrorizer, Dissection, Grave, Dark Tranquillity, Sepultura, Eucharist, Edge of Sanity, Pestilence, Deicide, Bolt Thrower and Vader. Also thanks to these guys for excellent guest-performances: Mikael Stanne, Chris Amott, Markus Johnsson, Kalle Nimhagen and Alexander Wittbom." Nonexist was formed in 2000 by Johan Reinholdz. Johan Liiva (ex-Arch Enemy) joined on vocals and Matte Modin (ex-Dark Funeral, Raised Fist) on drums and the debut album "Deus Deceptor" was released in 2002. A hiatus followed but Nonexist was resurrected 2012 with the release of the album "From My Cold Dead Hands." It was followed by "Throne of Scars" in 2015 and "The New Flesh" EP in 2016, the latter presenting Reinholdz as the new frontman (guitar/vocals). "In Praise of Death" was recorded and mixed by Johan Reinholdz at Multipass Studios in Malmö, Sweden. The release was mastered by Markus Nilsson at Sunnanå Studio with cover artwork photography by Johan Reinholdz and layout by Sofia Bennrup and Johan Reinholdz.

The track listing and artwork can be found here:

1. Cancerous Disembodiment (Feat. Kalle Nimhagen) 2. A Meditation upon Death (Feat. Mikael Stanne, second guitar solo by Christopher Amott) 3. Dead Black Embrace (Feat. Markus Johnsson) 4. Bloody Carnal Sorcery (Feat. Kalle Nimhagen) 5. Reduced to Ash (Feat. Alexander Wittbom)

#Nonexist #deathmetal #deaththrashmetal #melodicdeathmetal #MightyMusic #musicvideo

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All