The Slyde To Release Debut Full Length Album 'Awakening'

Following up with 2017's EP release "Back Again," Toronto melodic progressive metal/rock act The Slyde return with the debut full length effort entitled "Awakening." The band (formerly known as just Slyde) will drop ten tracks of intricate, contrapuntal prog rock that was honed over the last decade on May 18th.

For a taste of the album, check out the video clip for "Back Again" in the player above and the lyric video for "Fading" below the artwork at the bottom.

The band comments: "'Awakening' refers to the process of invoking change. Each song can be seen as a protest song, arguing for a more peaceful and autonomous way of life. For example, the opening track 'Awaken/Walk With Me' is about getting away from the powerful effects of media control and propaganda. 'Back Again' is about the beauty and fragility of our Earth, and how we take it for granted. 'Divide' refers to the brainwashing effects of politics of fear and division in the West. "Awakening" looks at our daily consumption and poses the question 'what is, or could be, our reality?"

In true prog fashion, The Slyde stays true to the mission statement with quirky arrangements, aggressive edge, and ominous lyrics. The result is a thought provoking, high-octane album for fans of Rush, Dream Theater, Haken, Coheed and Cambria, and Megadeth. Driven by Nathan Da Silva’s elegant vocals, Sarah Westbrook's powering keyboard skills, and the powerful rhythm section of Alberto Campuzano (Warmachine, ex-Annihilator) and Brendan Soares, the band are to catch the ears of any technically minded melodic prog rock fan.

The band adds: "We think fans will certainly enjoy this release, and will notice that we're slowly adding more of an aggressive edge to our songwriting plus incorporating more 'metal' elements into the riffs. 'Awakening" is less conceptual than previous releases by containing more straight up rockin' tunes. Each song stands on its own."

The track listing and artwork can be found here:

1. Awaken 2. Walk With Me 3. In Silence 4. These Wars 5. Awakening 6. So Blind 7. Fading 8. Join The Parade 9. Divide 10. Back Again

Check out "Fading" here:

#TheSlyde #progressivemetal #progressiverock #progressivehardrock #musicvideo #lyricvideo

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All