The Sea Within Releases Video Clip For New Single 'Ashes Of Dawn'

Progressive rock supergroup The Sea Within - featuring members of Pain of Salvation, Transatlantic and The Flower Kings, to name a few - released a video clip for the new single "Ashes Of Dawn." The song will appear on the band's self-titled album coming June 22nd via InsideOutMusic. Pre-orders can now be made at this location.

The Sea Within is more of an amalgamation of some serious talents, than a regular “supergroup." Guitarist/vocalist Roine Stolt, bassist Jonas Reingold, keyboard player/vocalist Tom Brislin, drummer/vocalist Marco Minnemann and vocalist/guitarist Daniel Gildenlöw have a vast reservoir of experience, considering who they've worked with: The Flower Kings, Transatlantic, Jon Anderson, Steven Wilson, The Aristocrats, Joe Satriani, Yes, Steve Hackett, Renaissance, Pain Of Salvation, Deborah Harry, Meatloaf and Karmakanic - that of itself tells you this is something very special. Also added later to the bands line-up for live shows was vocalist and guitarist Casey McPherson of ‘Flying Colors’ and ‘Alpha Rev’, who also sings a couple of songs on the album.

Initially the band went to Livingston Studios in London in September 2017 to begin the process of assembling the material and recording it for the album. Not all of the record, though, was finished at Livingston, Stolt says. “Some extra touches were added later, when all of us were doing things in our home studios, such as guitars, vocals, synth and keyboards, textures. On the vocal side, a few of us have been involved: Daniel, me, Tom and Marco; and later Casey.

The band also has some very special guests featured on the album. “Jordan Rudess from Dream Theater plays the piano on one song. The legendary Jon Anderson sings on another track, while 'wind ace' Rob Townsend, who plays saxophone and flute with Steve Hackett, is also on the record. Each of them brings a different flavour to the music.” Stolt continues: “People have asked me how I would describe what we have done, and it is almost impossible. Our tastes are very eclectic – from prog to jazz to classical, to heavy rock, folk, punk, electronica and pop. We all come from different backgrounds - so everything goes. I feel you will hear all that's good about pop – with great melodies and hooks – plus the rawness of metal, improvisations, symphonic and movie soundtrack."

The track listing and artwork can be found here:

Disc 1:

1. Ashes of Dawn 2. They Know My Name 3. The Void 4. An Eye for an Eye for an Eye 5. Goodbye 6. Sea Without 7. Broken Cord 8. The Hiding of Truth

Disc 2:

1. The Roaring Silence 2. Where Are You Going? 3. Time 4. Denise

#TheSeaWithin #progressiverock #progressivehardrock #musicvideo #InsideOutMusic

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All