Black Elephant Premieres New Single, Video Clip 'Walking Dead'

"Cosmic Blues," the impending new full-length from Italian psychedelic fuzz/heavy rock troupe Black Elephant, will see release July 20th via Small Stone (in CD, digitally, and limited edition purple vinyl formats). In advance of its release, band partnered with The Obelisk for the video for the new single "Walking Dead" over at this location, or just simply in the player above.

The album was recorded and mixed by Giulio Farinelli, mastered by Maurizio Giannotti, and cames wrapped in the cover design of Robin Gnista.

Based in Savona, Italy, the four-piece has conjured ghosts of '70s heavy fuzz and '90s riff mongering offering up a sonic brew that's both potent and thoroughly modern. "Cosmic Blues" follows 2014's "Bifolchi Inside" and 2012's "Spaghetti Cowboys" (get it?) and marks the band's debut on Small Stone Records. Comprised of lead vocalist/lead guitarist Alessio Caravelli, rhythm guitarist Massimiliano Giacosa, bassist Marcello Destefanis, and drummer Simone Brunzu, Black Elephant makes its mark in the home country's booming heavy rock underground with memorable songs and a sound that's just as comfortable getting funky on "Chase Me" as it is re-imagining Soundgarden as a riff rock outfit à la peak-era Dozer, rolling out huge grooves en route to "Cosmic Blues For Solitary Moose," loaded with fuzz and scorching solos.

Given a brisk, live sound in its production - fitting for a group with hundreds of shows under its collective belt - "Cosmic Blues" comes across natural and at times maintains the intensity of earlier work (closer "Inno" walks by and waves), while simultaneously exploring more spacious realms in the not-a-cover "Helter Skelter" and the takeoff jammer "Baby Eroina," which eases into and out of its nodding rhythm with a smoothness worthy of a group's third album and a fluidity that typifies the record's entire thirty-four-minute run.

The track listing and artwork can be found here:

1. Cosmic Soul

2. Helter Skelter

3. Chase Me

4. Walking Dead

5. Baby Eroina

6. Cosmic Blues For Solitary Moose

7. Inno

#BlackElephant #doomstoner #stonerrock #psychedelicdoom #psychedelicrock #SmallStoneRecords #musicvideo

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All